

V.A. Silberland Vol 3 The Ambient Side Of Kosmische Musik 1972-1986



August 15th, 2025 CD / 2-LP / digital

On their last trip to Silberland, Bureau B hurtled along the chrome highways and glass skyways of the kosmische landscape, powered ever onwards in perpetual motorik motion. This time, however, the Hamburg imprint opt for an unhurried itinerary, coasting far beyond the familiar rhythmic terrain to explore crystal caverns and emerald pastures, immersing listeners in the ambient side of this alternative Allemagne. Building on the tape loops, tone poems, and minimalist compositions of the 60's avant-garde, these musicians utilised the sweeping scope of the synthesiser to create expansive meditations on outer-planetary escapism, human connection, and the natural world. This compilation offers a survey of this singular era, blending pioneering voices with lesser-known artists for an immersive sonic experience.

Taken from Cluster & Eno's self-titled 1977 album, "Ho Renomo" opens the set with a profound minimalism. The track's swaying bassline and textural guitar carry listeners through a tranquil and meditative space, capturing a spirit of collaboration and simplicity that became a hallmark of the era. Roedelius' "Veilchenwurzeln" follows, evoking pastoral scenes in a multi-layered and undulating composition, where synths flow gently, conjuring images of open fields and embodying an organic warmth. Der Plan's "Die Wüste" delves into darker territories, translating the visual world of Rainer Kirberg's cult film into a stark soundscape, while Rolf Trostel's "Hope Is The Answer" sees a steady sequence rise and fall beneath the filter, mutating a recurring refrain from his 'Two Faces' LP into a melancholic torch song from the stars. The koto-like plucks and piercing drones of Vono's "Hitze" create a mysterious and hypnotic experience which draws on both ancient and futuristic tones before giving way to "E-Night", a recording from the sessions of You's 1980 LP 'Electric Days', which only emerged via later expanded-editions. Reverb-laden synths and delicate pulses evoke vast open spaces in this arpeggiated journey through the stars. As the album progresses, Serge Blenner's "Phrase IV" beguiles with minimalist yet celestial synth lines, while Moebius' "Falsche Ruhe" offers a quiet, haunting meditation on solitude. From there, Harald Grosskopf's "Oceanheart," envelops listeners in aquatic ambient textures that suggest serene, moonlit waters - a perfect surface to reflect the starry sky portrayed by Lapre's acoustic guitar and wistful synths.

The glimmering, crystalline, landscape of Riechmann's "Abendlicht" finds a heartbeat amongst the tranquility, leading seamlessly into the unhurried progression of shimmering chords and chiming synths which make up Adalbert von Deyen's "Per Aspera Ad Astra". Unreleased until Bureau B's recent retrospective set, Faust's "Lampe An, Tür Zu, Leute Rein!" channels a darker, introspective, energy, marked by drones and field recordings while Conrad Schnitzler's "Electric Garden" creates an electronic biosphere buzzing with synthetic life. Moebius & Plank's "Nordöstliches Gefühl" pairs calm percussion and rhythm guitar with pastoral, swirling electronics, resulting in a lush, stately piece that captures the spirit of a vast, open landscape.

Blurring fast-paced sequences into a shimmering haze, Deutsche Wertabeit delivers hypnotic minimalism reminiscent of Philip Glass at his mesmeric best, before Asmus Tietchens' "Räuschlinge" pulls the listener into an eerie atmosphere of deep disquiet. Pyrolator's "Minimal Tape 1/8" offers an immersive wall of sound, a dense electronic tapestry that feels tactile and sculptural. The wintry "Southland" by Rüdiger Lorenz evokes the isolation of frozen landscapes, a fitting prologue for "Alleewalzer" by Thomas Dinger, an icy yet delicate waltz, which rounds out this collection with a haunting, fragile beauty.

This collection is a testament to the evocative power of early electronic music. Each track serves as a portal, guiding us into a realm where sound becomes landscape, emotion, and narrative. This compilation invites you to explore the quiet revolutions, serene spaces, and deep introspection at the heart of German electronic music's formative years.

ARTIST - TRACKLIST

- A1 Cluster & Eno Ho Renomo
- A2 Roedelius Veilchenwurzeln
- A3 Der Plan Die Wüste
- A4 Rolf Trostel Hope Is The Answer
- A5 Vono Hitze
- **B1** You E-Night (bureau b edit)
- B2 Serge Blenner Phrase IV
- B3 Moebius Falsche Ruhe
- **B4** Harald Grosskopf Oceanheart
- **B5** Lapre Tedan (bureau b edit)

- C1 Riechmann Abendlicht
- **C2** Adelbert Von Deyen Per Aspera Ad Astra Mental Voyage (bureau b edit)
- C3 Faust Lampe an, Tür zu, Leute rein! (bureau b edit)
- C4 Conrad Schnitzler Electric Garden (bureau b edit)
- C5 Moebius & Plank Nordöstliches Gefühl (bureau b edit)
- D1 Deutsche Wertarbeit Unter Tage (bureau b edit)
- D2 Asmus Tietchens Räuschlinge
- D3 Pyrolator Minimal Tape 1/8
- D4 Rüdiger Lorenz Southland (bureau b edit)
- **D5** Thomas Dinger Alleewalzer

PROMOTION Sean Newsham +49(0)40-88166663 sean@bureau-b.com www.bureau-b.com

BB471 CD 265492 4015698280159 **LP** 265491 4015698111101









