

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 16, 2020

69th OECS Authority Meeting to be held Virtually

The 69th Meeting of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Authority will be held virtually on June 18, 2020 under the incoming Chairmanship of Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Dr. the Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit.

OECS Heads of Government will join the Director General, Commissioners and senior staff of the Commission to discuss, inter alia, COVID-19 responses in Health, Education and Agriculture; the reopening of economies; and other key operational matters.

The media are invited to tune into:

- The Opening Ceremony which will be streamed live on Thursday, June 18th 2020 at 10:00AM on the OECS Facebook Page; and
- The Closing Press Briefing directly following the Authority Meeting on Thursday, June 18th 2020 (at approximately 5:00pm). This briefing will also be streamed live on the OECS Facebook Page.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States is an international organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean.

The OECS came into being on June 18, 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed.

The OECS currently has eleven members spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, The British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Media Contact: Tahira Carter, Senior Communications Specialist, OECS Communications Unit

Phone: (758) 285 6250 | Fax: (758) 453 1628

Email: tahira.carter@oecs.int | Website: www.oecs.int Facebook: www.facebook.com/oecscommission

Twitter: @oecscommission

