

## Media Release

## MEDIA RELEASE UNDER STRICT EMBARGO UNTIL 00:05 ON 4.9.17

## AN ALL STAR AUSTRALIAN CAST JOINS AARON PEDERSEN & JUDY DAVIS AS FILMING COMMENCES ON ABC'S MYSTERY ROAD – THE SERIES

As filming for ABC's six-part drama *Mystery Road – The Series* gets under way in Western Australia's East Kimberley this week, a powerhouse of Australian talent set to join the production is announced.

Deborah Mailman, Colin Friels, Wayne Blair, Anthony Hayes, Ernie Dingo, John Waters, Aaron McGrath, Tasma Walton, Madeleine Madden, Kris McQuade, Meyne Wyatt, Tasia Zalar and Ningali Lawford Wolf are set to star alongside Aaron Pedersen and Judy Davis in this the spin-off from Ivan Sen's internationally acclaimed and award winning films *Mystery Road* and *Goldstone*.

*Mystery Road* – *The Series* sees Detective Jay Swan (Aaron Pedersen) assigned to investigate the mysterious disappearance of two young farm hands on an outback cattle station. One is a local Indigenous footy hero, and the other a backpacker. Working together with local cop Emma James (Judy Davis), Jay's investigation uncovers a past injustice that threatens the fabric of the whole community.

Directed by Rachel Perkins, produced by David Jowsey and Greer Simpkin, *Mystery Road – The Series* is being script produced by Michaeley O'Brien and written by Michaeley O'Brien, Steven McGregor, Kodie Bedford, Jon Bell and Tim Lee, with Ivan Sen and the ABC's Sally Riley and Kym Goldsworthy as executive producers.

*Mystery Road* – *The Series* is produced by Bunya Productions and Golden Road Productions for the ABC with funding support from Screenwest, the Western Australian Regional Film Fund supported by Royalties for Regions, Screen Australia's Indigenous Department and Create NSW, in association with all3media International who will handle the international sales.

The series is set to premiere on the ABC in 2018.

For further information, please contact Safia van der Zwan, Publicist, ABC on 02 8333 2154, vanderzwan.safia@abc.net.au