

## ABC dramas share the spoils at AACTA Awards

Landmark ABC dramas *Riot* and *Mystery Road* have shared the spoils at the 2018 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards, winning nine of the nation's top screen prizes between them.

Indigenous crime series <u>Mystery Road</u> won five AACTA Awards, including best drama and best supporting actress and actor for Deborah Mailman and Wayne Blair, respectively. Gay and lesbian rights drama *Riot* won best telefeature or mini series and best lead acting awards for Kate Box and Damon Herriman.

ABC titles won 14 awards in total, spanning drama, comedy, entertainment, factual and online series, plus prizes for best direction, music score, editing and casting.

Michael Carrington, ABC Acting Director Entertainment & Specialist, said: "Congratulations to our programs and partners for their outstanding wins at the AACTA Awards. Our success across multiple genres affirms our commitment to delivering diverse and distinctive Australian content to all Australians, connecting them with compelling stories and voices that reflect their lives."

## AACTA AWARDS FOR ABC PROGRAMS

*Mystery Road* (Bunya Productions): Best Drama Series; Best Guest or Supporting Actor (Wayne Blair) and Actress (Deborah Mailman) in a Television Drama; Best Editing (Deborah Peart); Best Original Music Score (Antony Partos, Matteo Zingales).

*Riot* (Werner Film Productions): Best Telefeature/Mini Series; Best Lead Actor (Damon Herriman) and Actress (Kate Box) in a TV Drama; Best Casting (Allison Meadows).

<u>The Weekly With Charlie Pickering</u> (Thinkative TV): Best Entertainment Program.

*Employable Me* (Northern Pictures): Best Documentary or Factual Program.

<u>Hawke: The Larrikin And The Leader</u> (Southern Pictures): Best Direction in Nonfiction Television (Bruce Permezel).

The Letdown (Giant Dwarf): Best Comedy Program.

<u>Deadlock</u> (Every Cloud Productions): Best Online Video or Series.

## 6 December 2018