

RELEASED: Tuesday 1 December 2015

ABC TV dominates at the 5th AACTA Awards for screen craft excellence

ABC TV has collected a total of eight awards – and was the most awarded network – at the screen craft excellence awards, part of the 5th AACTA Awards season, held in Sydney last night.

Celia Pacquola received the AACTA Award for Best Performance in a Television Comedy for her portrayal of the smart and decisive Nat Russell on the AACTA Award-winning satirical comedy *Utopia*.

The Weekly with Charlie Pickering was awarded the AACTA Award for Best Light Entertainment Television Series, marking a first-time AACTA Award nomination and win for producer, writer and host **Charlie Pickering** and producer **Chris Walker**, who were awarded alongside **Kevin Whyte** and **Frank Bruzzese**.

ABC Children's collected its fifth consecutive win for the AACTA Award for Best Children's Television Series. The Award went to debut production *Ready For This* (awarded to **Darren Dale**, **Miranda Dear** and **Joanna Werner**).

In drama, the AACTA Award for Best Production Design in Television went to **Herbert Pinter** for *The Secret River Part 1*, a captivating drama capturing the lives of early convict colonists in NSW, based on Kate Grenville's award-winning novel.

Nicholas Holmes ASE won the AACTA Award for Best Editing in Television for the hard-hitting *Redfern Now: Promise Me*.

The AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score in Television went to **Cornel Wilczek** for his work on the supernatural drama *Glitch Episode 4*.

The AACTA Award for Best Documentary Television Program went to *The Killing Season* by **Deborah Masters** and **Sarah Ferguson**; a gripping examination of the forces that shaped Labor during the Rudd/Gillard leadership years.

Capturing the lives of those living on the Great Barrier Reef, *Life On The Reef Episode 1* picked up the AACTA Award for Best Cinematography in a Documentary for **Nick Robinson**, **Luke Peterson** and **Jon Shaw**.

Richard Finlayson, ABC Director of Television, said: "These awards recognise the exceptional talent and creativity within our industry, and we congratulate all of our deserving winners."

The full list of ABC nominees is:

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST CHILDREN'S TELEVISION SERIES

LITTLE LUNCH – Robyn Butler, Wayne Hope (ABC3)
THE NEW ADVENTURES OF FIGARO PHO – Daniel Fill, Frank Verheggen, Luke Jurevicius (ABC3)





NOWHERE BOYS SERIES 2 – Beth Frey (ABC3) **READY FOR THIS – Darren Dale, Miranda Dear, Joanna Werner (ABC3)**

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST LIGHT ENTERTAINMENT TELEVISION SERIES

DIRTY LAUNDRY LIVE – Tarni James, Peter Lawler, Rachel Millar, Richard Kelly (ABC)

JUDITH LUCY IS ALL WOMAN – Anna Bateman, Judith Lucy (ABC)
JULIA ZEMIRO'S HOME DELIVERY – Damian Davis, Polly Connolly, Nick Murray
(ABC)

THE WEEKLY WITH CHARLIE PICKERING – Charlie Pickering, Kevin Whyte, Chris Walker, Frank Bruzzese (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTION IN A TELEVISION LIGHT ENTERTAINMENT OR REALITY SERIES

JUDITH LUCY IS ALL WOMAN – Episode 2 – Hanky Panky – Anna Bateman (ABC) JULIA ZEMIRO'S HOME DELIVERY – Episode 7 – Waleed Aly, Damian Davis (ABC)

KITCHEN CABINET – Episode 7 – Clive Palmer – Stamatia Maroupas (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST PERFORMANCE IN A TELEVISION COMEDY

Nathan Lovejoy – SAMMY J & RANDY IN RICKETTS LANE (ABC)

Celia Pacquola – UTOPIA (ABC)

Randy – SAMMY J & RANDY IN RICKETTS LANE (ABC)

Emily Taheny – SHAUN MICALLEF'S MAD AS HELL (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY IN TELEVISION

REDFERN NOW: PROMISE ME – Mark Wareham ACS (ABC)
THE SECRET RIVER – Part 1 – Bruce Young (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST EDITING IN TELEVISION

LITTLE LUNCH – Episode 5 – The Top of the Fireman's Pole – Annabelle Johnson (ABC3)

REDFERN NOW: PROMISE ME - Nicholas Holmes ASE (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST SOUND IN TELEVISION

REDFERN NOW: PROMISE ME – Rainier Davenport, Ian McLoughlin CAS, Wes Chew, Tom Herdman, Annie Breslin, Blair Slater (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST ORIGINAL MUSIC SCORE IN TELEVISION GLITCH – Episode 4 – Cornel Wilczek (ABC)

REDFERN NOW: PROMISE ME – Antony Partos (ABC) THE SECRET RIVER – Part 1 – Burkhard Dallwitz (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN IN TELEVISION THE SECRET RIVER – Part 1 – Herbert Pinter (ABC)



Media Release

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST COSTUME DESIGN IN TELEVISION

MISS FISHER'S MURDER MYSTERIES SERIES 3 – Episode 1 – Death Defying Feats – Marion Boyce (ABC)
THE SECRET RIVER – Part 1 – Edie Kurzer (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST DOCUMENTARY TELEVISION PROGRAM

BEWEEN A FROCK AND A HARD PLACE – Jo-anne McGowan (ABC)
THE CAMBODIAN SPACE PROJECT: NOT EASY ROCK'N'ROLL – Richard Kuipers (ABC)

THE KILLING SEASON - Deborah Masters, Sarah Ferguson (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTION IN A DOCUMENTARY

THE KILLING SEASON – Episode 2 – Great Moral Challenge (2009-2010) – Deborah Masters (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY IN A DOCUMENTARY

THE KILLING SEASON – Episode 2 – Great Moral Challenge (2009-2010) – Louie Eroglu ACS (ABC)

LIFE ON THE REEF – Episode 1 – Nick Robinson, Luke Peterson, Jon Shaw (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST EDITING IN A DOCUMENTARY

THE CAMBODIAN SPACE PROJECT: NOT EASY ROCK'N'ROLL – Andrea Lang ASE (ABC)

THE KILLING SEASON – Episode 2 – Great Moral Challenge (2009-2010) – Lile Judickas (ABC)

AACTA AWARD FOR BEST SOUND IN A DOCUMENTARY

THE CAMBODIAN SPACE PROJECT: NOT EASY ROCK'N'ROLL – Keith Thomas (ABC)

LIFE ON THE REEF – Episode 1 – Caspar Mazzotti, Craig Beckett, Dan Miau, Terry Meehan (ABC)